Beatrix Skater Dress by Named Clothing

A few weeks ago, during Graduation season, I realized that I really didn’t have anything dressy to wear to such occasions.  I have plenty of short dresses for date nights, but nothing for an evening work event.

As I already had the pattern and the fabric to sew the Beatrix Skater Dress by Named Clothing, I went ahead and sewed it up. The fabric is a black ponte knit from Girl Charlee.  It must have some nylon content because it feels a little bit light nylon tights.

Instead of using the high collar pieces, I chose to lower the neckline a bit and finish it with a bias binding that I made from the dress fabric. Have I mentioned before that I LOVE making bias tape? Well, I do.

The only change I would make in future versions of this dress (and there will be more…) would be to put some darts in the back bodice for a swayback adjustment. You can see in the picture of the back of the dress that there is some extra fabric back there. Other than that small change, I love the dress!  It will be a much worn wardrobe staple. I could even throw a jacket or cardigan over it and wear it to work.  What about you?  What are you sewing this summer?

Leave a Reply

