Make 2 Along

vid 240So, the Tiny Paper Foxes podcast  and the C Jane Make podcast have really inspired me to be more intentional and thoughtful in my knitting and sewing. Jenny of  Tiny Paper Foxes is hosting a Make 2 Along, in which participants hand-make two garments that are intended to be worn together.

My goal for this make-along was an outfit that would work for the weekends. I chose Chuck by Andi Satterlund and the Ginger Jeans from Closet Case Files. While I am very happy with the outcome of my outfit, neither garment is perfect. Firstly, I chose to go up a size on the Chuck because I knew I wanted to wear it over a shirt or a dress. I really should have make the correct size and just modified to make the bust larger because the sweater is too large in the shoulders. It is VERY wearable and very comfortable, but if I make it again (and I might, I really like those cables!) I will make a size medium and just grade up for the bust. I used Quince and Co. Lark in the Peacock color and am really happy with the yarn choice.

 

vid 245

This is my second pair of Ginger Jeans, but the first pair was really just a wearable muslin to check for fit. This pair is made from some nice Theory denim that I ordered from Mood, with thread and notions that I ordered from Taylor Tailor’s shop.  I did a little art deco design on the back pockets, which are placed much better on this version. You can’t see it in these photos, but the waist band is about 2 inches too big and needs to be taken off and cut down.  I will do that soon, but I wore them to the movies already and they are very comfy. I do see some wrinkles in the back of the thigh that I think indicate that part of the pattern is too wide, and the rise is not quite right, either.  I plan on making a black pair of the high waist version of the Gingers, and Heather just released a Flared Leg addition to the pattern that I snapped up right away.  Maybe I have never been a big jeans wearer because off the rack never fit me well. This pattern might change everything! I know that I LOVE top-stitching and installing rivets, so there will be more jeans sewing in my future.

vid 248

Leave a Reply

