Simplicity 1014

makes 005
Photo by: My son, his chosen blog name is Dogster. 

While shopping for some last minute cotton to finish up the zipper bags for my friends’ Christmas gifts, I saw this rayon/spandex mix and thought it would be good to use for trying out Simplicity 1014.

The pattern calls for more yardage than was left on the bolt, so I had to cut the cowl part on the bias, which led to some weirdness in the way it hangs.

1014
Photo from sewing.patternreview.com 

As a test of the pattern though, I think it was a success. The fit of this style is very easy and flowing. I think it is a little too wide at the arm-scythe which leads to some wrinkling. The shoulder seams of my tops NEVER sit on my shoulder, they are usually falling of off my arms. I think that may lead to my major fitting issues with tops (including hand knits). It is possible that my body is narrow in that area in relation to my bust size.  However, when I look at this photo, it looks a little tight in the bust, so who knows?  Do you know?  If so, please leave a comment because this is my major fitting issue for my top half. 

The bottom line is I would make this pattern again. I don’t think that large print is doing me any favors, so I would stick to a small scale print, or a solid color. It would make great weekend wear with leggings or even skinny jeans. Gingers, maybe?

Leave a Reply

