Hand-spun Shawl

Participating in Jennie’s Make2Along for her Tiny Paper Foxes podcast has really helped me to prioritize my projects and put them into an order that makes sense.

I wanted to finish up this shawl project before the yarn for my Chuck pullover by Andi Sutterland came in the mail from Quince and Co.  So, I did.

shawl 004

The body of the shawl is my hand-spun Merino and silk using fiber from Electric Sheep Dream in the Anne’s Journey colorway. The lace portion is knit in Dream in Color Classy in Amethyst Ink.

I wanted to use every yarn of my hand-spun, which is a worsted to bulky weight. In order to do this, I kind of made up what to do. I just knit the body like you would start any semi-circular shawl, then joined the Dream in color when I ran out of hand-spun. To make up for the difference in yarn weights, I did a knit one, yarn over pattern on the first row of Dream in Color yarn. Then I knit about three rows of garter stitch and began the Elm Leaf border from the Ocean Spray Shawl by Galia Lael from Knitty Winter 2011. shawl 002

Over all, I am pretty happy with the way it turned out. As my spinning gets better, I should be able to spin a more consistent and thinner yarn. Maybe enough for a whole shawl one day. Happy knitting!

2 thoughts on “Hand-spun Shawl

Leave a Reply

