Akita Blouse from Seamwork Magazine

akita 025

I have been an off and on subscriber to Seamwork Magazine since it began.  I seesaw between wanting more patterns and needing to concentrate on the patterns that I already have so that each of my garments can be as well-made as possible.

This LOUD blouse came about as the perfect cross between some vintage cottage that my husband’s grandmother gave to me from her sewing stash and the simple, once piece Akita blouse from the September issue of Seamwork.

The pattern is easy to cut and sew, with simple finishing details. It was a one day project, and I am not a swift seamstress. If I were to make it again, I would lower the arm-scythe and add some hip shaping to the hem. The bust darts seem to hit me just about right, although it is hard to tell from my poor posture in this photo. (Note to self, take blog pic in the morning, not after work!)

Right now I am on the concentrate on the patterns I have end of the spectrum, so there is sure to be something that I really want to make in the October Seamwork issue. Oh, and have you seen the Vancouver collection from Sewaholic? Those patterns were created to jump the line in my sewing queue!

Leave a Reply

