Spinning Silk Hankies

I had been resisting the urge to learn how to spin because I knew there would be a steep learning curve, and I already knit, sew, run, teach, parent, etc.  However, when I walked into Yarn on Youree, my LYS and saw the display of drop spindles, I was undone. A few weeks later, I had a medium weight spindle and some Shetland roving from Blue Moon Fiber Arts to practice spinning. I was hooked! I find spinning on a spindle very relaxing and rewarding, even if I had to watch a few videos and a read some books to find out how to begin.

This May, my mom, a friend, and I attended the Magnolia State Fiber Festival in Vicksburg, MS where I purchased an orange silk hankie from Spinning Straw Into Gold and a very lightweight spindle from Louisiana Lagniappe. Silk is my favorite thing to spin so far because I was able to draft if very thin and spin it very fine as a beginner. I plan to spin silk hankies in rainbow colors and use them to knit the Rainbow Dots cowl by Janina Bottger

Skeins of silk, singles waiting on a bobbin to be plied, and spindles in a bowl.
Skeins of silk, singles waiting on a bobbin to be plied, and spindles in a bowl.

.

Leave a Reply

