Deer and Doe Pavot Jacket – Lace Edition

Matronly or on trend? I cannot decide if I like this lace version of the Deer and Doe Pavot Jacket.  Of course, I love the pattern, but in gray lace it seems a little mother of the bride to me. And I have not nailed down the fit of this jacket yet. In this version I raised the waistline by one inch (2.5 cm) and I used French seams on all of the seams except for the sleeves since it was a sheer fabric. I also omitted the facing pieces for the button band, instead encasing the raw front edges in grosgrain and petersham ribbon from ClassicDesignShoppe. The silver buttons I bought in April at a local historical reenactment. They are heavy, beautiful, and were a fantastic price. The sleeve seams sit about two inches (5 cm) below my actual shoulders, so that needs to be worked out in my next version of this jacket. When I get the fit perfect, I will do this up in a nice navy wool and keep it forever. Deer and Doe patterns are wardrobe staples and deserve to be perfected. Happy sewing!

Houston 015 Houston 017 Houston 019

4 thoughts on “Deer and Doe Pavot Jacket – Lace Edition

  1. I think it’s rather cute, and I love the way the colour shows through from underneath. I wear a lot of grey, so i doesn’t look matronly to me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

