Sewing Saturday – Simplicity 2556 and Named Sara Leggings

This week I have been working on Simplicity 2556, a vest with several options. I usually don’t sew Big 4 patterns, but I had this one already and I was using up scraps from a pencil skirt. It turns out vests are great to use up many small pieces of leftover fabric. The vest is finished except for buttons and button holes. I will have to shop for buttons, as I don’t have a button stash at all. It seems to fit well and the pattern was easy to follow. It will look very retro paired with the skirt of matching fabric. Of course, I don’t have a shirt to wear under it, so that goes on the sewing list!

 

I really need a dress form!
I really need a dress form!

I also came across Named Clothing, an indie brand from Finland. I read about it on a wordpress blog, but I don’t remember whose it was. If you blogged about Named, please leave a comment so I can give you proper credit because I fell in love with several of their patterns. I bought the Sara Ankle Zip Leggings, which is a 2 in 1 pattern (you can also make shorts) pdf download. Today I only made a muslin from a variety of scraps, but the pattern instructions are WONDERFUL. They would be great for beginners because every technique is explained so clearly. According to my measurements, I was a 12 in the waist and a 14 in the hips, so I blended the two sizes for my muslin. It turned out baggy in the hips (this NEVER happens to me) so I will sew a straight 12 in my fashion fabric. Maybe I can find some stretch faux leather… Happy sewing.

Vita Knot Top

Photo from Named Clothing

2 thoughts on “Sewing Saturday – Simplicity 2556 and Named Sara Leggings

Leave a Reply

