5K for St. Jude

Saturday my running friends and I traveled to a 5K race to benefit St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. One of my friend’s daughter was a patient there for 21 months and is thankfully now cancer-free. So, the hospital has a special place in my heart.

eli 008

 

None of us are really in good shape right now, having taken time off for one reason or another.  Mostly, we just celebrated being healthy and together, and being able to run at all. It was the first 5K that I have participated in since October, when I ran one with my son. My time was 31 minutes, which I considered pretty good for just starting to get my mileage back to normal.

eli 016

After the race, we went inside the civic center where a televised auction was being held as another St. Jude fundraiser. My friend P and her family were asked to come onstage and speak about their experiences with St. Jude. It is not every day that I get to see a friend on TV! It was just local television, but I was still excited for them. Happy running and good health to you and your family.

eli 018

2 thoughts on “5K for St. Jude

  1. I do more biking than running … as I am very new to running (just a couple months now). However, whether running or biking … I REALLY like the events that benefits a good cause…and the one you mention is a very good one indeed.

Leave a Reply

