Craft Day

knitting 005

 

We had the day off school today for Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, so we had some friends over to craft. My friend Stacie is a triple threat; she can knit, crochet, sew, sing, and act. Wait, that’s a pentuple threat. Anyway, she is very talented.

I have been wanting to learn to crochet for awhile, so we scoured Ravelry for a suitable pattern and she gave me a quick lesson. Also, she lent me her hook as I didn’t have any big enough. I am using my ‘precious skein’ of Merino Bulky from String Theory Yarn in the Poseidon colorway. It was the last one  they had and they are not dyeing this colorway anymore, hence the preciousness.

The pattern we picked is Helen by Michelle Mooney. This neckwarmer was similar to something I had chosen to knit with this yarn, and it looked like a good beginner’s pattern. So far, I have only done the first two rows, but as there are only 17 rows to the whole pattern, I think I can finish it up pretty quickly. Not by this Friday, but by some future Friday for sure. Happy crafting!

Oh, and Michelle Mooney is also on wordpress, so give her a visit as well.

Leave a Reply

