Musing Monday – Transfer of Skills

As I reflect on my first semester of teaching fourth grade reading this year,  I see that my students are getting very skilled at using reading strategies in a whole group discussion, in small groups, and in isolated pieces of text. But, when asked to read and think about a piece of text that requires multiple strategies, or to apply these same strategies to their writing, they have trouble. Part of this situation is just the need for more practice, but I can’t help thinking that there is more than I could be doing to support my students as they internalize these skills of good readers and writers. To this end, I have found a few research articles that may shed some light on how students transfer skills across situations. Next Monday I will summarize my findings here. In the meantime, please comment if you have any insights into supporting students as they expand their toolbox of reading and writing strategies.

3 thoughts on “Musing Monday – Transfer of Skills

Leave a Reply

