Finished Friday – Twigs and Willows Cardigan by Alana Dakos

I seamed, and seamed, and seamed, and finally it is finished.  I love this pattern; the leaves on the neckline, the ribbing on the waistline and cuffs, the shaping at the waist, all of it is lovely.  What is not so lovely is the fact that I chose the wrong size. My bust is 36 inches, so I knit the 38.5 size thinking that I would need some ease as I would be wearing it over a shirt or dress.  I should have knit the 35 inch bust size to get a good fit. Lesson learned.  There is too much fabric under my arms and in the sleeves. The shoulder seams are falling off my shoulders (just like in my Laurel dress) and it looks totally homemade.

I think the problem is a sizing issue rather than a seaming issue. It is certainly NOT a pattern issue. The pattern was great and very clear, but I am not sure if I will wear this out of the house. The yarn will not stand up to frogging and re-knitting, so I put the sweater away for awhile to think about what it has done.

030

2 thoughts on “Finished Friday – Twigs and Willows Cardigan by Alana Dakos

Leave a Reply

