Sewing Saturday – Cake’s Bonny Sailor Top

 

 

wip 002

As blouses and T-shirts are what is currently lacking in my warm weather wardrobe, I am focusing on sewing these easy pieces.  Just in case you haven’t noticed a theme to my sewing, blue is my favorite color. My new classroom is decorated in a nautical theme and apparently I have to match my work decor. So when I saw this Cake top on Tilly’s blog, I was done for. The fabric is a dark navy stretch jersey from Girl Charlee and I found the buttons at Hobby Lobby (a big box craft store). This is my first Cake pattern and so far I am really pleased with the fact that it is self grading.  The top of the pattern pieces are marked by size and the bottom is marked by hip measurement. I was able to trace the side seams to connect my bust size with my hip size for a perfect fit (hopefully). As a pear shape, I think this is a genius idea.  So far, the pieces are all cut out, and waiting to be marked and sewn.  Maybe I can have a new top by Friday…

3 thoughts on “Sewing Saturday – Cake’s Bonny Sailor Top

Leave a Reply

