Finished Friday – Simplicity 1717 and Day to Night Drape Top

Well, my summer of sewing is almost over. Once school begins I will have less time to sew daily, but I have learned SO much simply by practicing. The Simplicity 1717 skirt is no exception. The first time I attempted this the yoke was a mess, but this time it came out beautifully.  The fabric was some that my husband’s grandmother had given me from her stash, so it is special. There was not enough to match the flowers on the seam lines, but I still love the look of this garment.

wip 004

wip 006
Close up of yoke.

The Day-to-Night Drape top by Maria Denmark is another hit. It came out a bit more snug than I intended, but that is completely my fault because I forgot to add seam allowances when I cut out my fabric. Future versions will have a bit more ease. And there will be many future versions! This pattern is wonderful. There will be more Maria Denmark patterns on my sewing table.

Of course I am not going to wear this top with this skirt!
Of course I am not going to wear this top with this skirt!
5 thoughts on “Finished Friday – Simplicity 1717 and Day to Night Drape Top

Leave a Reply

