Work in Progress Wednesday – Gertie’s Pencil Skirt and Twigs and Willows

I am a Gertie fangirl, I must admit.  Recently, I found the PBS show It’s Sew Easy and I started recording it. Well, I think I squealed when Gertie came on to talk about hairline hems for sheers! This week I am sewing the Pencil Skirt out of her book Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing. The fit is great and I love the wide waistband. The only thing that scares me is making a button hole.  I don’t think I have ever done that before, so I will be getting the sewing machine manual out again and doing some practice runs.

Lovely wide waistband.
Lovely wide waistband.

wip 010

My main knitting project this week has been the first sleeve for the Twigs and Willows cardigan by Alana Dakos. I finished the first sleeve and have completed the cuff of the second sleeve.  I also bought some silver buttons for this sweater today. Hopefully, it will be finished before we get cooler weather this fall.

 

One thought on “Work in Progress Wednesday – Gertie’s Pencil Skirt and Twigs and Willows

Leave a Reply

