Work in Progress Wednesday – Traveling Woman and Simplicity 1717

While on a family vacation, I wore my Traveling Woman Shawl that I made in March 2013. spring 13 015

My mother in law fell in love with it and said, “I want one.” As I had been wanting to knit

something for her for awhile, this was a great clue. We found a yarn store and got busy

shopping! The top part of her shawl is Malabrigo Sock in Zarzamora. She also want beads

on the bottom, lacy part of the shawl, so we got some silver lined, clear beads. I am

almost ready to ball up the World Class Stash Whistle yarn in grey for the lower portion

of the shawl.

 

Traveling Woman in Progress
Traveling Woman in Progress

I am giving Simplicity 1717 a second try this summer. My first experience with this pattern was not a success.  The skirt portion fit well, but the yoke was a mess.  I am hoping to be able to figure it out this time.  I read on Pattern Review that others had trouble with the yoke or had to grade it down a size or two.  My husband’s grandmother gave me some fabric that had been in her stash so long that she didn’t remember where she got it. She doesn’t sew any more and I was happy to use it.  I can’t wait to show her the completed skirt. Isn’t it the coolest (authentic) retro print?

wip 029

 

Leave a Reply

