Work in Progress Wednesday – Alabama Chanin T and Dangling Conversation

I have been home more this week, so I am able to work on more projects. I am still working on my sister’s Ice Storm Cowl, but am also just about to finish up the Dangling Conversation beaded scarf by Mindy Ross. I am using up left over yarn from my Austin Hoodie.  The yarn is Cascade sock yarn and I will still have leftover yarn when I am done with this scarf! I really like this pattern, it is easy enough to do while talking with friends, but gives me practice knitting with beads. I can see making several more of these in the future.

wips 001

Close up of beads and eyelets.
Close up of beads and eyelets.

I have also been sewing, A LOT. I am making muslins for Colette Laurel. Yes, muslins, plural.  I am having major fitting issues with this pattern and my level of expertise with alterations is not up to the task.  So, Laurel is in time out right now and I am testing the Alabama Chanin T-Shirt pattern from Alabama Studio + Style. It looks really long and skinny, but is actually very flattering on the body.  As soon as I sew in the sleeves I will do some handwork on the neckline and sleeve edges and have  a new T-shirt. The whole spirit of Alabama Chanin is hand sewing, but I have found that when I have time to sit down and hand sew, I want to knit instead. So, for right now I am machine stitching most of the T-shirt. I have plans to do lots of hand work stuff from her books in the future, but for right now I just needed to sew something that looked nice after all those Laurel fails.

I am edging with jersey bias tape. i am on a bias tape making kick right now.
I am edging with jersey bias tape. I am on a bias tape making kick right now.
One thought on “Work in Progress Wednesday – Alabama Chanin T and Dangling Conversation

Leave a Reply

