Sewing Saturday

Today I am working on the Cambie Dress from Sewaholic.  This has been a work in progress for a couple of months. I had to put it aside when I realized that I didn’t have a zipper. I have since acquired and installed said zipper.  On the advice of a great seamstress from my church, I made the lining first and used it to check the fit. It seems like it fits well without any adjustments. This is great news for me, as I am not that skilled at adjusting patterns, yet.

Sewing lining to main fabric.
Sewing lining to main fabric.

 

I am using a lightweight quilting cotton batik from Homemade Quilts and More. I know, I know, quilting cotton is not good for garment sewing. But this was so beautiful and ON SALE! I love the Sewaholic pattern and have plans for a winter weight Cambie. I would also like to sew the Thorlow Trousers and the Renfrew Top.  My sewing queue just gets longer and longer!

I am making View A with an a-line skirt.
I am making View A with an a-line skirt.

I have really taken my time and tried to do this correctly. A few years ago I was trying to sew something over the weekend, with mixed results. Now, I would like to go slower, making less things but of better quality.  I am also learning lots of things along the way.

2 thoughts on “Sewing Saturday

Leave a Reply

